Birth of Biopolitics

Just to confirm that the Birth of Biopolitics is out and available (I received my copy a few days ago). I haven’t seen mention of this yet. If you prefer not to incur shipping charges from the UK you can hold off for month or so till it comes out here.

Don’t forget that chapter one is available in full text format (pdf).

So far, I’m surprised that there’s a lot less on the Chicago school of neoliberalism than I thought (only towards the end of the book) since this is touted so much as Foucault’s only foray into contemporary politics (in the Lectures).

I love to imagine the scene captured at the end of the Lectures: there’s a hubbub after F. stops speaking then apparently you can hear him asking if anyone has recordings of the previous years’ presentations “because I don’t have any”!